I’m a blogger! Whut?

This blog is driving me to madness.  Being a visual thinker I need things to look just right and visually appealing or I get all funny about it and constantly change things around.  Since I started this blog I’ve changed the look three times and will have to do it again as I’m not happy with the current look.  I spent days agonizing over the first choice of theme for this blog and perused Google search for hints on how to write an “about” page and how to get started on this blogging thing.  I researched different topics and wracked my brain for a good name.  Until fatherbean spoke up and said “Doesn’t blogging actually consist of writing posts?” and he was right.  I’d spent so much time on making the blog look good I hadn’t written anything, scared it would be the “wrong” thing or that I wasn’t doing it right.

What I’ve gotten from other blogs is that as long as I speak from the heart on subjects that matter to me I’m doing it right.  So Mama to Bean was born and though I’m still working on getting the look “just right” I’m doing it around written posts about my life and loves.

I’ve managed to write an about page on my own (thanks for nothing Google search) and even added a family page introducing the whole bean family dogs and all.  I’m so excited that there are people who have settled here for a moment and hope that with time I’ll be able to engage in thoughtful, silly and random conversations with other bloggers from around the world.  Comments are encouraged, they will help me improve!

Now I carry my camera (which didn’t get much use before) everywhere and snap photos of my life.  I write down things I think of on the bus that could be good posts or things I want to post about someday but require more thought.  I don’t want to use to many other social media sites as that will confuddle me and cause me to feel pressured and lose interest in this platform.

Blogging is fun and I’m at a point in my life where I can creatively stick with it.  I look forward to what this adds to my already random life.  Now…to peruse the themes again and figure out how to do a custom header.  I forsee complications.  Good thing I have a basket of chocolate to see me through.  Nom nom nom.

4 thoughts on “I’m a blogger! Whut?

  1. Sounds like you are on the right track! I am by no means an authority on successful blogging since I’ve only been doing it since august, but what has worked best for me is just to be myself on my blog and engage my readers. I’ve written similar posts to this before where I’ve tried to organize what I was doing, and the best, most useful feedback I got from readers is to just keep on being me because they read it for me.

    Oh and I am somewhat OBSESSED with themes, too! I had to try a bunch before I found one I liked, and now I’m not even too keen on it anymore. Luckily the one I chose is extremely customizable so I am probably just going to change some of the elements of it instead of scrapping the whole thing. I would highly recommend Twenty Ten or Twenty Eleven if it’s your cup of tea!

    • That is the best advice, to keep being who you are. Glad that it seems I’m on the right track – sometimes I’m not so sure. Hope people will be patient with me as I try to find my voice. Currently my posts switch from “i’m writing this as story/essay” and “i’m talking to you in my real voice LOLZ” 😛 Though, in a way, both are me so I suppose it’s safe to keep going on both fronts! I love your blog (have started going back a bit so I can “catch up) and was so happy you followed me – I turned to my hubby and said “The Waiting is following me she was FRESHLY PRESSED and EVERYTHING!” I then had to explain what that was. 😀 Thanks for the recommendations – actually those are more of what I was looking for. Customizable – just have to figure out the how to’s on that.

  2. Haha, this pretty much captures the first couple of days of blogging. I was lucky enough that the theme I clicked on first was perfect for what I had in mind and the name I took from a poem I had just written. But I must say those hours agonizing over what to post first and ow to post were brutal. But wordpress bloggers are a friendly bunch and I quickly realized that I had nothing to worry about.

    • Thanks for the comment! 🙂 I hear you…hours and hours and pages of ideas of what to post for that first post…I think the theme thing was distracting me. LOL I’ve noticed what a great community there is here. I look forward to meeting more awesome people. Thanks again! 🙂

Draw On My Walls!

