Baby, Stairs Are Dangerous

I haven’t completely trusted my husband with Bean.  I’ve left them alone together (they look after each other on Saturday and Sunday) but there’s always this little nag in the back of my mind.  What if, what if, what if…it chants, spinning my anxieties and having me imagine the worst possible scenario.  Hubby is easily distracted.  He has a tendency to get sucked into the computer for hours on end.  Doing impersonal things when he’s supposed to be looking after the boy.  While I know much of this worry and mistrust is my anxiety, that logical conclusion does nothing to quell my fears.

Yesterday one of those fears came true.

At his grandparent’s house (Hubby’s side) Bean often goes up and down the stairs with our help.

This time he wormed his way past his father and attempted it on his own, tumbling headfirst down the flight of carpeted stairs.

Lightening quick, hubby dove headfirst after him, catching Bean’s shirt halfway down and preventing a full tumble.  Bean finished his fall gentler than he would have without his father’s quick grab and after a bit of scared tears and crying Bean was back to his normal self, wandering around and being silly.  He doesn’t even have a bruise or a red mark from this scary fall!

Hubby, on the other hand, has ended up with a scraped knee that would make any schoolyard boy jealous and multiple bruises on his shoulder and leg.  His knee puffed up and he’s been hobbling around since.

We took Bean to the doctor after I got home from work just to be sure everything was fine.

Someone was certainly looking after Bean yesterday and that someone was his father, my hero.

Draw On My Walls!

