Feeling Like Myself – A Mystery

When or where do you feel most like yourself?

This is a tough question for me.  In fact, the whole theme of self is tough – my sense of self is still in flux most of the time, or buried beneath a thick veneer of depression.

I define myself by the people and things I surround myself with.  I can change to fit in with almost any crowd – though admittedly that skill gets worse as I get older and less tolerant.  

Thinking about it, right now, there are two when and wheres that settle my anxiety and have me feeling comfortable in my own skin.  

The first is my alone time with my precious boy.  Bean is growing up so fast and there’s nothing I love more in the world than being his Mamabean.  I love taking him to places and sharing in his new wonder of the world.  

The second time I feel mostly comfortable with myself is surrounded by my people.  Geeks and nerds – comic book readers and manga aficionados.  People who share my squees over Doctor Who and understand why I choose to watch My Little Pony Friendship Is Magic over almost anything else on Tv.  There’s nothing quite like sharing the same space with people who share your obsessions.

I realize this is a short post, but admittedly I’m very tired tonight.  I’m probably going to head to bed as soon as I’m done typing.

Goodnight to all my readers, old and new, and I wish you well.

Image

Draw On My Walls!

